Watch Demo Reel of Cricket Fantasy League i Get mobile alert & updates on WOC!
About Cricket
Origin of Cricket
World Series Cricket
Limited Over Cricket
The Best of Cricket Books
Eddie Gilbert
Sir Vivian
Bradman's Best
Cricket in the World
Cricket in England
Cricket in India
Cricket and the Controversies
Cricketing Legends
Don Bradman
Garfield Sobers
Sunil Gavaskar
Popular Cricket Grounds
Eden Gardens
Eden Park
Popular Cricket Clubs
Melbourne Cricket Club
Parnell Cricket Club
Nightcliff Cricket Club
Cricket Regulations
ICC Code of Conduct for Umpires
Duckworth Lewis Method
Playing Conditions for Menís Test Matches
Womens Cricket
Popular Women Cricket Players
Jhulan Goswami
Claire Taylor
Mamatha Maben
Home » Cricket Regulations

Cricket Regulations

Cricket is a global sport with a tremendous fan-following and commercial success. Earlier it was just test matches that ruled the cricketing fraternity comprising of a handful of nations such as England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, India and Pakistan. The emergence of One Day Internationals (ODI) or Limited Over Internationals marked a new era in world Cricket. The first ODI was played on January 5, 1971 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCC) in Australia between the home nation and England. A few years later, Kerry Packer, who was the former owner of the Nine Network in Australia, turned around the fate of Cricket by introducing World Series Cricket tournament.

With the birth of this groundbreaking format, the entire perception of the game took an astonishing turn from the traditional format of test Cricket. Features such as colored clothing, matches being played under lights, white ball and dark sight screens, multiple camera shots and so on were included to increase the fun factors of the game. Now with a newer form of the game in practice, the concerned authorities felt the need to change certain Cricket Regulations and Cricket rules. The MCC regulations were altered to fit in to the shorter as well as to the longer version of the game. Although the longer version or test Cricket has not undergone much of a change, but still there are a few worth-mentioning.

When it comes to learn About Cricket, most pundits trust the the Laws of Cricket framed by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). According to this guide, a Cricket match is to be played between two teams consisting of 11 players each. A 12th man is included in the players' list of each of the two teams. He can only field in case any of the players from the playing 11 gets injured or becomes unable to play for some reason.

According to Cricket Regulations, the captain of the toss-winning side has to decide whether he wants to bat or bowl. The toss is done in the presence of the Match Referee and two captains.

On-field Cricket Regulations state that the side chasing the target score must achieve it within the stipulated overs or within a single innings. If the chasing team gets all out before overhauling the target score, the team that bats first is declared the winner.

In ODIs, a bowler is given a quota of 10 overs. He is not allowed to bowl more than his quota. This is a very crucial rule of Cricket.

If both the teams end up scoring equal number of runs after the completion of their respective overs, the match is declared as a tie. From time to time, the regulations of Cricket pertaining to tied games have been altered significantly.

Other Cricket Regulations include fielding restrictions, the concept of Power Play for ODIs, the inception of Duckworth-Lewis method to decide the result of a rain-affected match and a few others.
Cricket Regulations

© 2008, All Rights Reserved
Compare Infobase Limited
US Office : US Market Access Centre, 111N Market Street, Suite No.650, 6th floor, San Jose, California. 95113-1101, Phone: +1(408) 351-3379
New Delhi Office : C-62, Community Centre, Janakpuri, New Delhi-58 (India),Tel : +91-11-41588012, 25542045, Fax : + 91-11-25547264